Euphoric From The HIGH

My class went on a field trip to the High Museum of Arts in Atlanta… I really tried to cut down on the photos but it was really hard so I gave up after a while. The first section of the museum was designed by Mr. 3×3 Richard Meier. There was no mistaking his pristine (well) white finish and the rigid geometry of the square and circle. For a second I thought I was at The Getty (Studied that one for a project in undergrad – imagine a play area conforming to his geometry. I made it work 🙂 ) The addition was by Renzo Piano … the King (or perhaps one of) detailing. His configuration was that of a 4×12 scheme. Each I’ll admit had their unique elements and connected the galleries by two overhead bridges We were given an official tour by the facilities manager and had the amazing experience of getting up onto the roof and seeing the back of house layout. Ok ok .. I’ll stop typing and just get on to the photos … a thousand words huh?

IMG_1163

Proof that I came to work …… worked out well after some pages mysteriously exited the book.

IMG_1170

Spent some time gawking at this set of buildings and learned that the author of Gone With the Wind lives here ::)

IMG_1172

More than meets the eye

IMG_1362

From there, it was on to the High…

IMG_1177

First Impressions

IMG_1185

IMG_1179

Took a while to find the entrance: but this is the old one

IMG_1183

Here we gooo…

IMG_1258

*SIGH* No comment…

IMG_1262

IMG_1345

Inside Piano:

IMG_1341

IMG_1254

Inside Meier:

IMG_1268

The everlasting ramp …

IMG_1272

Bet your butt it’s comfy 😛

IMG_1281

lol

IMG_1336

One of the bridges: n my classmates – hope they don’t sue me for this lol

IMG_1284

Uhmmmm … I really can’t explain this

IMG_1289

Self Portrait

IMG_1299

Exhibit:

IMG_1300

After much deliberation and analysis I concluded that this was public domain and took a seat

IMG_1302

Ahmnnn … The religious/folk art section.

IMG_1315

My new amigo

IMG_1317

precious minutes spent glued to this screen … now convinced that there s a lil man in our digital watches who paints on the minutes:

IMG_1327

I kid you not – this IS a PAINTING

IMG_1331

The ceiling:

IMG_1191

Ta Daaahhhh:

IMG_1199

The view

IMG_1210

IMG_1211

IMG_1212 IMG_1218

And … as do all good things do .. they come to an end .. with a wave of the bag check ticket it was time to get going before the rush hour stared 😦
IMG_1347

a lil photo effects here sun was pretty bright out though and it wasn’t as cold as I thought it would be.

IMG_1358

BUT FIRST .. one more snap of the awesome house

IMG_1363

well… one more does the trick

IMG_1366

and yea … SCAD -Atlanta was right around the corner. Was thrown off a bit when I saw a SCAD bus randomly drive pass then I remembered THEY ARE EVERYWHEREEEEEEE

IMG_1371

10 thoughts on “Euphoric From The HIGH

Would love to know what you think! .....

