There’s a first time for everything – Karaoke Night Included

Mentally willing myself to now remember that we are in the month of June! Welcome summer – more heat, t… etc.

For months I’ve been wanting to go to a karaoke night and Tuesday was finally the time for it. Armed with Austin, my dad and two neighbours we made our way to Ocean’s 11 in Ocho Rios (also another first for me …shhhh).

DWL I have no clue what was going on here but we were having fun!

The atmosphere was quite nice, with the exception of all that second hand smoke I inhaled and to say the hosts were not entertaining would be a huge lie. They sang and made noise and prompted persons to select their songs and wow the audience.

It took me about a half hour of deliberating before I got up the courage to sing. Since I wasn’t wearing my glasses  I chose something I was already familiar with – no use trying to read the words on screen when I knew it’d all be a huge blur and according to my critics… I wasn’t too bad but boy was I nervous!

This is a previous recording I did when I was being idle one day some time ago. 

I learned that there is such a thing as an awfully-good singer. I sat perplexed as I found myself enjoying the duet by two partially tone deaf participants. I suppose it was their antics that I found entertaining enough to disregard the voices.  But that’s what karaoke night is all about! Whether you can actually sing or not, what’s most important is that you enjoy yourself and have a good time! There was much variety though – country and gospel and though it took a while … I eventually realized that someone was singing ‘Goodbye’s the Saddest Word’!

Other Highlights of my night:

‘My ‘Toasted Almond’ cocktail – Tia Maria, Cream and Amaretto – was pretty good 🙂

Suitcase man who I identified as ‘Goofy’. He was part of a creative dance group that never failed to amuse the judges and audience at JCDC festivals from I was in prep school. Think he the ladies were quite traumatized by parts of his performance. – that included them! At this point I was quite out of it though.

The fact that Dad enjoyed himself! He would have sang as well but they didn’t have the song he wanted. Now that would have been something else.

Woot woot got a pic with Dad! he shall murder me if he ever sees this here! SHHHHHHHHHH

Rocking away to some music that was playing during the intermission while Scheming to get out of singing … cha!

The pre-entry photo shoot

Regrettably, it was made official that I am getting old as by 12 I was starting to burn right out while Dad was far from ready to get home. We got up just as they called my name to perform again but I just didn’t have it in me so I waved and made my way out. Think it ended shortly after so I didn’t miss much! In desperate need of vitamins it seems!

I absolutely love this!

10 thoughts on “There’s a first time for everything – Karaoke Night Included

    • YES! Thankfully I didn’t feel too pop down the next day at work. Was a real nice evening out!

      HaHa they were great in a strange way! I did give them credit for that!
      Thank you! I do try! 🙂

  1. hahah yea I hear that the drunker you are … the better everyone sounds 🙂 but their drinks were far too expensive for my liking!

    YESSERIEEE Daddy is the best! He had a blast!

  2. This looks like real fun. When I was living in Japan I remember when karaoke started to catch on in bars. Some very drunk people singing on every corner… After that it spread like wildfire… (Dad looks cool, he has got stamina it seems!)

Would love to know what you think! .....

