Forget me not!

Indeed it is a rare and auspicious moment when I venture into my ‘yard’. As weird as it sounds, I do this maybe 5 times each year. DWL as I type Mom is trying to get me outside… she just shouted excitedly ‘Look T, sun’s out!’ It’s quite ironic that I love nature and such scenes so much. Then again, my decision to not get out that much could mainly be because of the three or four (not sure) hairy fellas who live in the yard and make every effort to bark loudly at me every time they see me. Humphh.

So this post is about flowers 😀 and also how much I love capturing the ones around me. Of course it wouldn’t be complete without a little craziness on my part! (Namely my attempt to Zip-Line through my back yard … HA!) I tried my best to do some research (Pssshhh I yelled descriptions to my Mom and she yelled back what she thought I was talking about) in order to find out the names of most of them. Hmmn I captioned them but apparently you’d have to save them to see the names. I’ll just give a list:

  • Trumpet Plant – It’s a very fragrant flowering shrub
  • Plumbago – Resilient plant and is found in many home gardens. Love the colour!!!
  • Bloom from a random weed that’s gone viral in the backyard
  • Aster – Daisy-like in appearance – they’re member of the sunflower family and are found in a variety of colours
  • Hibiscus – Good ol’ hibiscus (one of the hundreds of species!)
  • Dahlia – Think this one’s a hybrid, there are about 36 species though
  • Red Lily – (Ok I cheated …. typed it in google and landed on this site but the information was so interesting I thought I’d share a summarized version:

While white lilies symbolize chastity and virtue – and were the symbol of the Virgin Mary’s purity and her role of Queen of the Angels – as other varieties became popular, they brought with them additional meanings and symbolism as well. Peruvian lilies, or alstroemeria, represent friendship and devotion, white stargazer lilies express sympathy and pink stargazer lilies represent wealth and prosperity. Symbolizing humility and devotion, lilies of the valley are the 2nd wedding anniversary flower.

As the flowers most often associated with funerals, lilies symbolize that the soul of the departed has received restored innocence after death.

Retrieved from: http://www.teleflora.com/about-flowers/lily.asp

  •  The last one I’m really not sure of but I see orange, red and purple ones popping up all over the place. Really cute though.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

7 thoughts on “Forget me not!

  1. Have you ever thought about writing an e-book or guest authoring on other blogs? I have a blog based on the same topics you discuss and would really like to have you share some stories/information. I know my audience would enjoy your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an e mail.

  2. Pingback: Roses are White, Red, Pink & Orange… « ayooutloud

  3. Once again, an appreciated post. Staring at the flowers, i realize how different and beautiful they truly are and how we (not including you) barely ever stop to notice them.

    Wonderful Photos….Thanks for the moment:)

Would love to know what you think! .....

